Thread: is this a scam?
-
1st February 2011 #1
Member
- Join Date
- Jun 2009
- Posts
- 49
- Rep Power
- 0
is this a scam?
a friend of mine asked me to check if Naschem Oil and gas company in scotland is real as it gives her job appointment. I thought its a scam and posted here so that others may know.
here are the details:
Naschem Oil and Gas Company
address:
DAVIDSON HOUSE, SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
PARK WALTER LEIGH WAY, MOSS INDUSTRIAL
ESTATE WNZ3PT LEIGH SCOTLAND
Tel: +44 704 576 5312
E-mail: hr@naschemoil.com
Website: www.naschemoil.com
their travel agency to process visa application:
GLOBAL DE TOUR TRAVELS AGENCY
Fairways Business Park, Deer Park Avenue
Livingstone EH54 8AF, Scotland
Email:info@global-detours.com
scotlandtravels@global-detours.com, globaldetour@yahoo.co.uk
Tel: +447024023982
Contact person: Controller(Mr. Campbell Colin)
Designation: Visa, Work/Resident Permit Department
thanks a lot.
-
1st February 2011 #2
- Join Date
- Dec 2004
- Location
- Denbigh, N Wales
- Age
- 46
- Posts
- 20,684
- Status
- Married
- Blog Entries
- 1
- Rep Power
- 233
They would only be employing people from the EU anyway if it wasn't a scam.
Keith Driscoll - Administrator
Managing Director, Win2Win Limited
Free Tips | Signs of Gout | Belly Fat Exercises | Cheap Flights to Las Vegas | Consolidate Debt | Forex Spread Betting | Type 2 Diabetes | Free Reviews | Offers Advice | Watches Store | Blogging Advice | Blog SEO | Discount Deals | Gadget Gift Store
-
1st February 2011 #3
Hmm ... most likely IS!
National Oil & Gas Company - an African-based enterprise with outlets in Australia, South America and Europe - appears to have delisted on 28 October 2010 ... following the acquisition of over 75 percent of the company's share capital by Korea National Oil Corporation.
Advise your friend to give it - and the purported Travel Agency in Scotland - a wide berth!
-
1st February 2011 #4
Moderator
- Join Date
- Aug 2010
- Location
- Northampton
- Age
- 61
- Posts
- 7,152
- Status
- Married
- Blog Entries
- 3
- Rep Power
- 81
Usually any job offers are accompanied by requests for payments/fees for processing visas and working permits or admin and legal. Means scam.
Anyone interested should check out the UKBA website for Working In The UK
http://www.ukba.homeoffice.gov.uk/workingintheuk/
-
1st February 2011 #5
Member
- Join Date
- Jun 2009
- Posts
- 49
- Rep Power
- 0
thanks everyone for your replies.
i thought its a scam as she's offered appointment for office assistant in accounts and was ask to process her papers thru that tour agency which would mean her paying for it.
-
1st February 2011 #6
Banned
- Join Date
- Jan 2011
- Posts
- 70
- Status
- Single
- Rep Power
- 0
It is Know as a Nigerian 419 Fraud (or Advanced Fee Scam)
This is just another variation of the Nigerian 419 fraud. Those phone numnbers are NOT UK mobile numbers, they are UK personal rate numbers, currently charged at 60p/min. Personal numbers may be used to divert calls to virtually any country in the world.
Having checked the whois registration for the Global Detours website, it gives an administrative contact phone number in Nigeria. In all probability, if you call either of the personal rate numbers your call will be answered by someone with a West African accent (maybe even the same person on both numbers), who will want you to send money for your visa application via Western Union!
-
1st February 2011 #7
Banned
- Join Date
- Jan 2011
- Posts
- 70
- Status
- Single
- Rep Power
- 0
The domain name, naschemoil.com was only created on January 11, 2011.
The Naschem Oil website www.naschemoil.com has been copied from the website of a genuine company based in Scotland www.dana-petroleum.com. Dana Petroleum has a warning on its website about this scam.
I have determined that the person running this scam has at least 113 websites registered in his name.
-
1st February 2011 #8
-
1st February 2011 #9
Moderator
- Join Date
- Aug 2010
- Location
- Northampton
- Age
- 61
- Posts
- 7,152
- Status
- Married
- Blog Entries
- 3
- Rep Power
- 81
I like the cut of your jib Howerd.

Like shaman magic bringing down the webs malicious forces.
Wish I could it
-
1st February 2011 #10
Banned
- Join Date
- Jan 2011
- Posts
- 70
- Status
- Single
- Rep Power
- 0
-
1st February 2011 #11
Banned
- Join Date
- Jan 2011
- Posts
- 70
- Status
- Single
- Rep Power
- 0
The advanced fee scam has been in existence for centuries. The world wide web just make it easier for the scammer to hide and spend virtually nothing targetting his victims.
I think landmarks such as London Bridge and the Eiffel Tower have been sold more than once and some 'legitimate' businesses are even selling parts of the moon!
-
1st February 2011 #12
-
1st February 2011 #13
Banned
- Join Date
- Jan 2011
- Posts
- 70
- Status
- Single
- Rep Power
- 0
-
1st February 2011 #14
theres a saying ,,,,,,,
if its too good to be true ,then it proberbly is
-
3rd February 2011 #15
Respected Member
- Join Date
- Aug 2006
- Location
- liverpool / manchester
- Posts
- 122
- Rep Power
- 43
if you are not sure about something like this,another quick check is to trace the IP address from the email,this will give you the geographic location of the origin of the email, so it can give an early indication of the scam
-
4th February 2011 #16
Banned
- Join Date
- Jan 2011
- Posts
- 70
- Status
- Single
- Rep Power
- 0
-
4th February 2011 #17
-
4th February 2011 #18
Banned
- Join Date
- Jan 2011
- Posts
- 70
- Status
- Single
- Rep Power
- 0
-
7th February 2011 #19
Yeesh! Are there any people at all in the UK who are willing to hire from outside the EU?
I'm really hoping I don't have to get a fiancee visa. But my job search isn't turning anything up except "non-EU residents need not apply". LOL.
-
7th February 2011 #20
- Join Date
- Jun 2009
- Location
- Dorset
- Age
- 45
- Posts
- 3,104
- Status
- Married
Archery 2000 Champion!
- Rep Power
- 53
-
12th February 2011 #21Tweet
Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)



, Howerd.

... that's a clever one of yours too!



